Tertiary-Higher Education

Group of Eight

Tertiary education, more commonly referred to as postsecondary education, refers to academic pursuit undertaken after high school. Undergraduate programs include any postsecondary education that takes up to four years to complete, including certificates, diplomas, and associate’s and bachelor’s degrees. Graduate programs typically require prior completion of an undergraduate degree and include diploma, certificate, master’s and doctoral degree programs. You can find tertiary education programs at vocational schools, community colleges, technical schools, professional schools, colleges and universities.
go8 logo

Australia Group of Eight

The Group of Eight (Go8) is a coalition of world-leading research-intensive Australian universities. The Go8 universities are some of the largest and the oldest universities in Australia and are consistently the highest ranked of all Australian universities. It is generally recognized as the Australian version of the Ivy League. They have always been a leader in the Southern Hemisphere and the Pacific Rim, and they enjoy nearly 70% of the Australian government ’s education and research budget. The headquarters of the Alliance is located in Canberra, the Australian capital territory. In addition to the fruitful research results and first-class scientific research talents, the enormous academic resources of the Go8 have also made a profound impact on various fields such as politics and economics which have far-reaching influences. They not only have a large number of outstanding alumni in the political and business circles around the world, but also have cultivated a number of Nobel Prize winners. In 2016 all Go8 Universities were ranked in the top 150 worldwide, with six in the top 100. Go8 Universities feature in the top 100 places for every subject area in the QS world university subject rankings. All Go8 Universities are in the QS top 100 for literature, biological sciences, environmental sciences, accounting and finance, anthropology, law and education.

The member universities of Go8

logo IRU

Innovative Research Universities (IRU)

Innovative Research Universities (IRU) is a coalition of seven comprehensive universities committed to inclusive excellence in teaching, learning and research in Australia. These Australian universities that joined IRU were established between the 1960s and the 1970s. They all have multiple campuses in major cities and towns. The institutions together account for 15 percent of the nation’s college enrolment. The IRU seeks to be at the constructive centre of Australian university policy making, influencing political developments beyond individual university capacities to do so. The IRU members’ research focus is on the translation and commercialization of research on issues of critical importance to the communities in which they are based and addressing problems of national and global scale. There will also be opportunities to benchmark against each other along with collaborating in professional development initiatives, e-learning and new information and communications technology and industrial issues.

The member universities of IRU